North Carolina requires applicants to submit an initial application for residency before taking any required licensing exams. You will not be allowed to schedule your licensing exam until you complete the online license application with the NIPR. Once you have your license from the state of residence of North Carolina or the designated state of residence, you must apply for reciprocal licenses so that you can work in more states, which will make you more attractive to potential employers. See the graphic below for a summary list of North Carolina's public adjuster license requirements.
In the case of a catastrophic storm, all licensed public experts must show identification before they can access a declared disaster area. Reciprocity means that an appraiser who holds a license from the home state can apply for an appraiser's license in another state without having to take that state's exam. The North Carolina insurance exam, which consists of 150 questions, covers a wide range of topics with the intention of “reflecting the laws, statutes, rules and regulations for the practice of insurance in North Carolina.” North Carolina will also accept a license from the Designated State of Residence (DHS) from an appraiser whose state of residence does not grant a license. Unlike public appraisers, independent adjusters represent an insurance company and will not work for a private client.
As future storms approach, it will be more important than ever for people to have access to a public insurance adjuster. To receive a public appraiser's license in North Carolina, a person must pass the Pearson VUE insurance exam. Once a person has met all the requirements to receive a public appraiser's license, there are certain guidelines that must be followed in North Carolina. North Carolina appraisers will not receive credit for any CE courses they have taken twice in a 24-month period, regardless of their license compliance cycle, so be sure to track and plan your CE courses accordingly.
According to the Commissioner of the North Carolina Department of Insurance, Mike Causey can grant permission to experienced people, licensed as public appraisers in other states, to come to the state to perform emergency adaptation work, as long as catastrophic claims are filed. AdjusterPro offers more than 40 hours of state-approved continuing education courses for North Carolina appraisers, including mandatory courses on floods and ethics. In accordance with Article 33 A of Public Adjusters, individuals must obtain a North Carolina public appraiser license through the National Registry of Insurance Producers before engaging in any activity as an appraiser in the state of North Carolina. Fingerprints must be given to the North Carolina Commissioner within 30 days of applying for the public appraiser's license.
Leave a Comment